2019 Pivotal Capital Ontario Masters Championships

The Rob Brooks Cup Presentation - (Left - Right) David Sly, Rob Brooks, Lisa Coates

The Rob Brooks Cup Presentation - (Left - Right) David Sly, Rob Brooks, Lisa Coates

The 2019 Pivotal Capital Ontario Masters Championships kicked off a championship event lineup for the 2019/20 squash season over the weekend at Mayfair Parkway. Tournament Organizer Cole Osborne (Mayfair Parkway Head Squash Professional) welcomed 100 masters athletes from across the province where 12 masters divisions were played and masters were treated to exhibition matches from top Canadian athletes Mike McCue and Nick Sachvie, top University league player Liam Marrison, and top junior athlete Nikhil Ismail.

A special thanks to Mayfair Parkway’s Scott Benson and Pivotal Capital Corp for sponsoring this event as the title sponsor, Cameron’s Brewing Company for supplying refreshments during the exhibition, and the City of Markham for supporting the exhibitions.

Ontario boasts some of the best masters squash groups in the world and we hope this momentum continues to grow. While Masters squash is about the competition - always hoping for those incremental improvements in your game from one year to the next - but it is so much more. Friendships, travel, etc. Masters embrace newcomers and celebrate at every tournament with stories of adventure, survival and perseverance - on and off the court.


The 2019 Rob Brooks Cup was hotly contested with a very close competition between two-time winner Mayfair Parkway and the Kingston Garrison Squash Club. In it’s fourth year of circulation, the Rob Brooks Cup was established to recognize and challenge club teams that joined this event. The Rob Brooks Cup is awarded to the home club with the most amount of match wins. Last year, it was Mayfair Parkway who took the Cup after a close match up with Kingston, but the tides have turned and the Cup goes to Kingston for the 2019-2020 season!


Women’s 30+ B/C - Jenny Truong (finalist Anna Tomei)

Men’s 40+ - Sean Oh (finalist Jamie Nicholls)

Men’s 45+ - Don Lee (finalist Scott Kemp-Gee)

Women’s 50+ - Lisa Bogdan (finalist Elka Markus)

Men’s 50+ - David Sly (finalist Trent Haase)

Men’s 50+ B/C - Hugh Lee (finalist Trevor Arndt)

Women’s 55+ - Kathy Cowper (finalist Christine Horner)

Men’s 55+ - Tom Powers (finalist Walter Bentley)

Men’s 60+ - Guy Gordon (finalist Chris Robitaille)

Men’s 65+ - Ian Smith (finalist Gabriel Dubois)

Men’s 70+ - Brian Murray (finalist Nikola Strineka)

Men’s 75+ - Howard Armitage (finalist Vincent Taylor)