Regional Team Championships - Toronto & District (Junior) and Niagara Region (Masters) Triumph

Every year two championship events take place where each of the 8 Squash Ontario defined regions of Ontario compete in a team format at both junior and masters age divisions. The Toronto & District, Niagara and Western regions steal podium finishes with Toronto & District North winning gold, Western region winning silver and Toronto & District West winning bronze one the junior side. For the Masters, it was Niagara Region winning gold, Toronto & District winning silver, and Western Region taking home the bronze.

Junior Regional Teams

Team GTA (Toronto & Disctrict) North prevailed this past weekend as the winners of the 2019 Ontario Regional Junior Team Championships being held at Northfield Racquet Club. Coach Bruce Marrison led his team to victory with players Marlow Benson, Charlotte Gheali, Alessia Ferris, Maya Mansoor, Behrad Haghighi, Ali Salemwalla, and Ben and Jacob Marrison. The group won all three team matches in their pool before meeting Toronto & District West (coach Ahad Raza) in the semi final with a score of 6-2 and finally Western Region (coach Jamie Hickox) in the championship final with a score of 5-3.


Masters Regional Teams

The Masters Regional Teams event took place at the Club at White Oaks the weekend prior to the junior teams, and it was home team Niagara A captained by Matt Easingwood that took home the gold after winning their four team match-ups (5-4, 6-3, 6-3, 6-3). The Niagara A team consisted of Dave Demoe, Dave Forgeron, Jakob Lipinsky, Tom Powers, Peter Stock, Shirley Ancker, Kathy Carter, Rachel Forgeron, and Mariette Lincoln. Runner up in the Masters A division was Toronto & District captained by Aaron Rodrigues and third place finishing team of Western Region captained by Carrie Chan.

In the B division, team Central Ontario prevailed winning 3 out of 4 team matches (9-0, 5-4, 8-1, (3)-6). The team consisted of Lisa Coates (captain), Ryan Bertrand, Scott Tindal, Marc Fortin, Glenn Caird, Eric McLean, Kathy Moore-Osborne, Roxanne Gagné, and Cathie Wood.